2018 ACS IT Journalism Awards now open

MediaConnect and The Australian Computer Society are delighted to announce that entries for the 2018 ACS IT Journalism Awards are now open.

All categories, judging criteria and entry forms can be found at www.thelizzies.com. Entries must be submitted by February 16, with the gala awards presentation being held on March 23rd, 2018 at Luna Park in Sydney.

Now, in its 16th year, the IT Journalism Awards is once again being sponsored by The Australian Computer Society, Australia’s peak industry association for IT professionals.

Also sponsoring the awards this year is founding sponsor Watterson Marketing Communications and NEC. MediaConnect also welcomes Hannover Fairs, organiser of the CEBIT exhibition as a sponsor for 2018.

Andrew Johnson, ACS CEO, said they were delighted to return as naming rights sponsors in 2018.

“The ACS is thrilled to once again partner with MediaConnect to recognise the great work of technology journalists throughout the year. Their work continues to help educate readers about the benefits of ICT for individuals and business alike, and in turn contributes to driving change and innovation for Australia,” Mr Johnson said.

The awards will recognise work published in the 2017 calendar year, with 22 awards for both individuals and mastheads, including two new awards to be announced shortly.

“We’re delighted to see such strong support again for the IT Journalism Awards, which continue to go from strength to strength,” said MediaConnect CEO Phil Sim. “We’d like to thank the ACS, Watterson, NEC and Hannover Fairs for their support and we look forward to celebrating another year of great Australian technology journalism.”

As always, every journalist entered into the competition will be afforded one free ticket to attend the awards ceremony courtesy to the Australian Computer Society. Tickets for friends and guests are available for purchase at http://www.thelizzies.com/attend-the-awards/.

If you would like to help us with judging the awards, please get in touch — all judges receive one free ticket to the event.

Sponsorships are still available. Please contact Phil Sim on 02 9894 6277 or philip@mediaconnect.com.au to secure one of the final sponsorship opportunities.

If you have any queries regarding entries please contact Craig Daveson on 02 9894 6277 or craigd@mediaconnect.com.au.

Gold Lizzies
The Gold Lizzies will recognise the single best journalist and title for the year of 2018.
Best Title
Best Journalist

Coverage Awards
The Coverage Awards aim to recognise editorial quality by a team of journalists working for a single masthead on a single beat. Must include the work of more than one journalist.
Best News Coverage
Best Consumer Technology Coverage
Best Business Coverage
Best Gaming Coverage
Best Independent Coverage

Beat Awards
The Beat Awards aim to recognise individual journalists who demonstrate the greatest skill in delivering content for a particular audience. Please note an article can only be entered in ONE of the following categories.
Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist
Paul Zucker Best Technology Industry Journalist
John Costello Best Business Journalist
Best Gaming Journalist
Best Telecommunications Journalist
Best Security Journalist
Best Technology Issues Journalist

*Journalism Awards
The Journalism Awards aim to recognise journalists who excel in different forms of journalism.
Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist
Best Reviewer
Best Technical Journalist
Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist
Best Columnist

Media Relations Award
David Hellaby Best Media Relations

(* New awards to be announced)

The IT Journalism Awards are made possible by our kind sponsors!!