Entries open for 2017 IT Journalism Awards

MediaConnect is delighted to announce that this year’s IT Journalism Awards will be held on May 12, back at Luna Park, Sydney and boasting two new awards.

Entries are now open and close at midnight on April 13th and can be submitted via:

Work submitted must have been published in the 2016 calendar year.

Following a review of the awards, we’ve decided to remove the Media Awards for Best Website, Video, Audio and Magazine.

In today’s multi-channel media environment, we wanted to increase the focus on the content and journalism, rather than its production. These awards have tended to recognise a small subset of outlets who have been able to invest heavily in production.

For publications that have previously concentrated on these specific categories, we welcome entries in the relevant coverage categories where all forms of media are considered.

In increasing our focus on technology journalism, we are introducing two new “beat” awards. Firstly, there will be a Best Information Security Journalist award, which will feel has become a key topic for technology writers, and which often doesn’t have a clear category for which items should be entered.

Secondly, we have introduced a “technology issues” award. This is an awards that is open across both consumer and business media, with the aim of recognising work that tackles technology issues.

With this award, the aim is to recognise work related to issues like privacy, censorship, government policy and social impact. These stories can transcend the business/consumer classifications of the other awards, and we feel need to be judged differently to other awards that have an audience focus.

MediaConnect is delighted to be able to once again host these awards for the technology journalism community, and we look forward to your support and entries. If you would like to help us with judging the awards, please let me know.

If you have any questions, please contact myself on craigd@mediaconnect.com.au or call (02) 9894 6277.

The IT Journalism Awards are made possible by our kind sponsors!!