2018 ACS IT Journalism Awards winners

Paul Smith and Which-50 took home the Gold Lizzies on Friday at the 2018 ACS IT Journalism Awards.

This year’s awards would not have been possible without our Gold sponsor the Australian Computer Society, and Silver sponsors Watterson Marketing Communications, CeBIT Australia, NEC and Belkin.

For his Best Business Technology Journalist award, as well as ranking highly commended in multiple categories, Paul Smith claimed the Best Journalist gong on the night. Which-50 also scored big by taking home Best Business Technology Coverage, as well as the Best Title award.

For the very first ACS Award for Achievement in Investigative Journalism, Paul Farrell was recognised for his ‘Medicare Machine’ report at The Guardian, receiving a $2,000 cash prize.

iTnews won gongs for Allie Coyne, who was awarded Best Security Journalist, as well as taking home Best News Coverage.

The original Gadget Guy, Peter Blasina was recognised with the presentation of the very first Pioneer of IT Media award, which was created to celebrate the hard work of IT media’s trailblazing pioneers. The newly minted Best Corporate Content prize also went to Ogilvy’s Brian Corrigan.

MediaConnect would also like to thank all of this year’s entrants, finalists and attendees for making the night a success.

The full list of winners in order of presentation:

Best Dressed Female: Claire Reilly
Best Dressed Male: Alex Kidman

Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist
Nico Arboleda
HC: Julian Rizzo-Smith, Daniel Crowd, Justin Hendry

Best Gaming Journalist
David Milner
HC: Tim Colwill, Lucy O'Brien

Best Telecommunications Journalist
Ry Crozier
HC: Leon Spencer, Petroc Wilton

Best Security Journalist
Allie Coyne
HC: Patrick Gray

Best Technical Journalist
David Braue
HC: Patrick Gray

Paul Zucker Best Technology Industry Journalist
Brad Howarth
HC: Paul Smith

Best Columnist
Mark Pesce
HC: Krishan Sharma

Best Technology Issues Journalist
Claire Reilly
HC: Paul Smith

Best Business Technology Coverage

John Costello Best Business Technology Journalist
Paul Smith
HC: Chris Griffith

Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist
Anthony Klan
HC: Chris Pash

Best News Coverage
HC: finder.com.au

Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist
Seamus Byrne
HC: Kristofor Lawson, Asha McLean

Best Consumer Technology Coverage
HC: The Today Show - Channel 9,  Fairfax Media

Best Reviewer
Djuro Sen
HC: Krishan Sharma, Alex Choros, Daniel Van Boom

Best Gaming Coverage
IGN Australia
HC: Game Informer

Pioneer of IT Media
Peter Blasina

ACS Award for Achievement in Investigative Journalism
Paul Farrell

Best Corporate Content
Brian Corrigan
HC: Alex Walker

David Hellaby Best Media Relations Award
David Wolf, Closer Communciations
HC: Matthew Wu, Telstra

Best Independent Media
Moonshot Podcast
HC: Ausdroid Media, Vooks

Best Journalist
Paul Smith

Best Title

The IT Journalism Awards are made possible by our kind sponsors!!