AFR & Mark Serrels triumph at 2019 Samsung IT Journalism Awards

The Australian Financial Review and Mark Serrels were awarded top honours at the 17th Annual Samsung IT Journalism Awards last week.

After nabbing the Best Business Technology Coverage and Best News Coverage awards, The Australian Financial Review came out on top with the Best Title overall Gold Lizzie.

CNET’s Mark Serrels found himself in the Best Journalist seat once more thanks to his victory in the Best Consumer Technology Journalist category, and multiple high commendations.

For the Pioneer of IT Media award which first began last year, David Frith was recognised for his huge contributions to IT journalism in Australia through his work at newspapers and on pioneering daily newsletter Computer Daily News.

Meanwhile, the CNET team found itself particularly prosperous on the night, winning the Best Consumer Technology Coverage category, whilst Jennifer Bisset and Jackson Ryan made their own appearances on stage for Best New Journalist and Best Gaming Journalist.

Ry Crozier, Djuro Sen and Brad Howarth also held their categories for the second year in a row, whilst IGN Australia continued to dominate the Best Gaming Coverage category with its third win in a row.

This year’s awards would not have been possible without our event sponsor Samsung Electronics Australia, as well as silver sponsors Watterson Marketing Communications, NEC and Avaya, with special mention to gin sponsor Enex Testlab.

See below for a full list of winners in presentation order.

Watterson Marketing Communications Best Dressed Awards
Alex Angrove-Plumb, Rae Johnston

Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist
Jennifer Bisset
HC: Jackson Ryan

Best Gaming Journalist
Jackson Ryan
HC: Lucy O’Brien, Mark Serrels

Best Gaming Coverage
IGN Australia
HC: CNET, Kotaku Australia

Paul Zucker Best Technology Industry Journalist
Brad Howarth
HC: David Swan, Seamus Byrne

Best Reviewer
Djuro Sen
HC: Joseph Hanlon

Best Telecommunications Journalist
Ry Crozier
HC: Jennifer Duke, Rohan Pearce

Best Security Journalist
Jeremy Kirk
HC: Juha Saarinen

Best Columnist
Mark Pesce
HC: Mark Serrels

Best Technical Journalist
Alex Kidman
HC: David Braue

Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist
Ariel Bogle

Best News Coverage
Australian Financial Review

John Costello Best Business Technology Journalist
Tess Bennett
HC: Andrew Birmingham, George Nott

Best Business Technology Coverage
Australian Financial Review
HC: Which-50, CIO

Best Technology Issues Journalist
David Swan
HC: Anthony Caruana, Mark Serrels

Best Corporate Content
Darren Pauli
HC: Stuart Corner

David Hellaby Best Media Relations
Salvatore Di Muccio, Well Above

Pioneer of IT Media
David Frith

Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist
Mark Serrels
HC: Claire Reilly

Best Consumer Technology Coverage
HC: The Australian Financial Review, Finder

Best Independent Media
The Wrap
HC: Stevivor

Best Journalist
Mark Serrels

Best Title
Australian Financial Review

The IT Journalism Awards are made possible by our kind sponsors!!