Enter the awards
Enter the awards

Entry Process

Entries for the 2019 IT Journalism Awards are now closed. 


Important note regarding tickets

Please be aware that MediaConnect only provide complimentary tickets to journalists who have entered the coverage, beat and journalism award categories. No free tickets can be extended the entrants in the media relations categories.


Entry content and word limits

We require the submission of up to four articles for titles and three for individual awards.

All submissions should not exceed 6,000 words in total. For instance, you can choose to enter three 2000 word articles or four 1500 word articles. This has been made to decrease the time it takes to judge the awards and to introduce a standard way to judge editorial quality across all categories.

Please also note that all categories are open to journalism in all its forms, be it written, audio or visual. 

The awards are split into five categories, and full descriptions and criteria are available here.

This year's awards are as follows:


Gold Lizzies

The Gold Lizzies will recognise the single best journalist and title for the year of 2017.

Best Title
Best Journalist


Coverage Awards

The Coverage Awards aim to recognise editorial quality by a team of journalists working for a single masthead on a single beat. Must include the work of more than one journalist.

Best News Coverage
Best Consumer Technology Coverage
Best Business Coverage
Best Gaming Coverage
Best Independent Coverage 


Beat Awards

The Beat Awards aim to recognise individual journalists who demonstrate the greatest skill in delivering content for a particular audience.

Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist
Paul Zucker Best Technology Industry Journalist
John Costello Best Business Journalist
Best Gaming Journalist
Best Telecommunications Journalist
Best Security Journalist
Best Technology Issues Journalist


Journalism Awards

The Journalism Awards aim to recognise journalists who excel in different forms of journalism.

Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist
Best Reviewer
Best Technical Journalist
Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist
Best Columnist


Media Relations Awards

The Media Relations Awards aims to recognise PR practitioners for their excellence in professionally handling media relations based on journalist's votes, and content creators who work outside the realm of traditional journalism.

David Hellaby Best Media Relations
Best Corporate Content

The IT Journalism Awards are made possible by our kind sponsors!!