top of page



Entries for the 22nd Annual Samsung Australian IT Journalism Awards are now closed, thank you for entering!


Please be aware that MediaConnect only provides complimentary tickets to journalists who have entered the coverage, beat and journalism award categories. No free tickets can be extended to the entrants in the media relations categories.


We require the submission of up to four articles for titles and the Best Reviewer award, and three for individual awards.

All submissions must be published in the 2023 calendar year and should not exceed the stated word or time limit for that specific award or category.


For instance, if the word limit is 9,000, you can choose to enter three 3,000 word articles or four 2,250 word articles. This ensures a standard amount of time can be used to judge editorial quality across all categories.

For the Best Audio/Video Program awards, entrants may submit up to two items not exceeding one hour of total combined runtime, and content may also be edited into a highlights package.

Important: Audio and video outside of the new Best Audio/Video Program and Best Corporate Content categories should be limited to 15 minutes per item. 

The awards are split into six categories, and full descriptions and criteria are available below.
This year's awards are as follows:


Coverage Awards

The Coverage Awards aim to recognise editorial quality by a team of journalists working for a single masthead on a single beat. Must include the work of more than one journalist (excluding Best Independent, which is open to individual entries under a one person masthead)

  • Best News Coverage

  • Best Consumer Technology Coverage

  • Best Business Technology Coverage

  • Best Gaming Coverage

  • Best Independent Coverage 


Beat Awards

The Beat Awards aim to recognise individual journalists who demonstrate the greatest skill in delivering content for a particular audience.

  • Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist

  • Paul Zucker Best Technology Industry Journalist

  • John Costello Best Business Journalist

  • Best Gaming Journalist

  • Best Telecommunications Journalist

  • Best Security Journalist

  • Best Technology Issues Journalist


Journalism Awards

The Journalism Awards aim to recognise journalists who excel in different forms of journalism.

  • Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist

  • Best Technology Reviewer (new)

  • Best Game Reviewer (new)

  • Best Technical Journalist

  • Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist

  • Graeme Philipson Best Columnist

  • Best Audio Program (new)

  • Best Video Program (new)

Other Awards

  • Best Short Form Content (new)



Media Relations Awards

The Media Relations Awards aims to recognise PR practitioners for their excellence in professionally handling media relations based on journalists' votes, and content creators who work outside the realm of traditional journalism.

  • David Hellaby Best Media Relations

  • Best Corporate Content





Gold Lizzies

The Gold Lizzies will recognise the single best journalist and title for the year of 2021.

  • Best Title

  • Best Journalist


bottom of page