top of page

2019 Samsung IT Journalism Awards finalists

Updated: Dec 17, 2019

With a little more than two weeks to go until the big night, Samsung and MediaConnect are delighted to be able to announce our shortlist of finalists for this year’s 2019 Samsung IT Journalism Awards.

Shortlisted finalists are announced only for all individual/journalist categories (in alphabetical order). Media categories include all nominees as listed below.

Shaneez Johnston, Samsung’s Head of Corporate Affairs and Social Media said that Samsung is happy to offer its support to Australia’s IT media and journalism community via the Awards.

“Samsung is proud to help support excellence in technology media and journalism. We value the role that technology media play and we look forward to sharing this fabulous night of recognition with them,” Johnston said.

This year’s Lizzies are also sponsored by Watterson Marketing Communications and NEC.

The presentation night will take place on Friday March 22 at Luna Park Sydney’s Crystal Ballroom.

If any entrants or judges have not received or misplaced their invite, please contact MediaConnect as soon as possible.

Ticket sales are currently open, and those intending to purchase either individual tickets or tables should do so ASAP at The Lizzies website.

Lastly, congratulations and good luck to all of this year’s finalists. And for those who did not receive a finalist berth, we hope you will still join us to support your IT journalism colleagues.

— Coverage Awards

Best News Coverage ARN Online, Australian Financial Review, CNET, Communications Day, Computerworld Australia, CRN,, Finder, Gizmodo Australia,, Junkee, The Australian, The Sydney Morning Herald, Which-50

Best Business Coverage ARN Online, Australian Financial Review, BIT, CIO, Computerworld Australia,, IOT Hub, Junkee, Lifehacker Australia, The Australian, Which-50, Women Love Tech

Best Consumer Technology Coverage APC Magazine, Australian Financial Review, CNET, Flim Video & Virtual Reality,, Finder, Gizmodo Australia, Junkee, Lawson Media (Moonshot), Lifehacker Australia, PC World Australia, Pickr, Swipe (Your Money), The Australian, The Gadget Grill, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Today Show, Nine Network, Vertical Hold: Behind The Tech News, WhistleOut,

Best Gaming Coverage Checkpoint Gaming, CNET, Finder, Game Informer, GameSpot, GOAT, Good Game Spawn Point, AusGamers, IGN Australia, Junkee, Kotaku Australia, Lifehacker Australia, PC World,, Press Start Australia, Progress Bar, Stevivor, Super Jump, The Sydney Morning Herald, Vooks, Which-50

Best Independent Media Ausdroid Media,, Lawson Media (Moonshot), Pickr, Progress Bar, Reckoner, Richard Armitt, Stevivor, Tech Guide, The Wrap, Vertical Hold: Behind The Tech News, Vooks

— Beat Awards

Best Consumer Technology Journalist Adam Turner Alex Kidman Alison Banney Chris Griffith Claire Reilly David Braue George Nott Mark Serrels Matt Sayer Seamus Byrne

Best Technology Industry Journalist Brad Howarth Brendon Foye David Swan Eleanor Dickinson George Nott Julia Talevski Rae Johnston Samira Sarraf Seamus Byrne Yolanda Redrup

Best Business Journalist Andrew Birmingham Ariel Bogle Chris Pash David Braue Elizabeth Barry George Nott Paul Smith Ry Crozier Tess Bennett Vanessa Mitchell Yolanda Redrup

Best Gaming Journalist Amanda Yeo Angharad Yeo David Milner Donald Duong Jackson Ryan James O'Connor Jeremy Ray Jessica McDonell Lucy O'Brien Mark Serrels Richard Moss Tim Colwill

Best Telecommunications Journalist Alex Kidman Corinne Reichert David Braue Jennifer Duke Krishan Sharma Leon Spencer Max Mason Rohan Pearce Ry Crozier Tegan Jones

Best Security Journalist Anthony Caruana Ariel Bogle David Braue Jeremy Kirk Juha Saarinen Rohan Pearce Roma Christian Ry Crozier Samira Sarraf

Best Technology Issues Journalist Anthony Caruana Ariel Bogle Chris Griffith Claire Reilly David Swan Joseph Brookes Krishan Sharma Lynne Minion Mark Serrels

— Journalism Awards

Best News Journalist Ariel Bogle Claire Reilly David Swan Justin Hendry Mark Serrels Ry Crozier Simon Sharwood Tegan Jones Yolanda Redrup

Best Reviewer Alex Choros Alex Kidman Djuro Sen Fergus Halliday Jacqui Dent John Davidson Joseph Hanlon Leigh Stark Nick Broughall Roma Christian Simon Sharwood Sneha Khale

Best Technical Journalist Adam Turner Alex Choros Alex Kidman David Braue Hayley Williams Jeremy Kirk Krishan Sharma Leigh Stark

Best New Journalist Alana Mitchelson Amanda Yeo Angharad Yeo Eleanor Dickinson Hayley Williams Jackson Ryan Jacqui Dent Jennifer Bisset Joseph Brookes Matt Johnston Matt Sayer Suzan Delibasic Tegan Jones

Best Columnist Alice Clarke Chris Griffith Claire Reilly Daniel Van Boom David Milner David Swan Jennifer Dudley-Nicholson John McDuling Mark Pesce Mark Serrels Paul Smith Simon Sharwood

— Content & Media Relations Awards

Best Corporate Content Alison Lowe Anthony Caruana Darren Pauli Kosta Andreadis Lilia Guan Matt Hopkins Next Custom Nick Ross Stuart Corner

Best Media Relations Andy Scales, Campaign Lab Carla Dovgan, Samsung Australia David Wolf, Closer Communications Doug Johns, Power Up Erin Victor, Kaspersky Lab Jordan Cameron, Blizzard Entertainment Matthew Wu, Telstra Salvatore Di Muccio, Well Above Samii Avdic, CampaignLab Susan Moore, Gartner

95 views0 comments


bottom of page