top of page

2020 IT Journalism Awards Now Open

MediaConnect is delighted to announce that entries for the 2020 IT Journalism Awards are now open.

All categories, judging criteria and entry forms can be found at

Entries must be submitted before midnight on Friday, January 17, with the gala awards presentation being held on Friday, March 20, 2020 at Luna Park in Sydney.

Now in its 18th year, the IT Journalism Awards is supported by long-time sponsors Watterson Marketing Communications, and Enex Testlab who are making sure this year’s Lizzies is one to remember. This event is made possible each year by our sponsors, so we thank them for their support.

We’re also pleased to announce that Game Reviews are welcome in the Best Reviewer category for the first time.

The coming awards will recognise work published in the 2019 calendar year, with 21 awards for both individuals and mastheads. “The IT journalism community is incredibly important. It’s where our business started, it is helping our society to navigate an increasingly high-tech world, and it’s championing the future of Australia’s economy,” said MediaConnect CEO Phil Sim.

“We’re delighted to bring the awards back in 2020, and trust that the rest of the industry - vendors, IT stakeholders and the PR community - can all join us to help celebrate the best technology journalism and media in Australia.”

If you have any queries regarding entries please contact Craig Daveson on 02 9894 6277, or via

As always, every journalist who submits an entry will be afforded one free ticket to attend the awards ceremony, courtesy of our sponsors. Tickets for friends and guests are available for purchase at

If you would like to help us with judging the awards, please get in touch — all judges receive one free ticket to the event.

Sponsorships are still available. Please contact Mike Woodcock on 04 11 969 248 or via to show your support and secure one of the final sponsorship opportunities.

See below for a full list of the awards

Gold Lizzies

The Gold Lizzies will recognise the single best journalist and title for the year of 2019.

Best Title

Best Journalist

Coverage Awards

The Coverage Awards aim to recognise editorial quality by a team of journalists working for a single masthead on a single beat. Nominations must include the work of more than one journalist.

Best News Coverage

Best Consumer Technology Coverage

Best Business Coverage

Best Gaming Coverage

Best Independent Coverage

Beat Awards

The Beat Awards aim to recognise individual journalists who demonstrate the greatest skill in delivering content for a particular audience. Please note an article can only be entered in ONE of the following categories.

Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist

Paul Zucker Best Industry Journalist

John Costello Best Business Journalist

Best Gaming Journalist

Best Telecommunications Journalist

Best Security Journalist

Best Technology Issues Journalist

Journalism Awards

The Journalism Awards aim to recognise journalists who excel in different forms of journalism.

Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist

Best Reviewer

Best Technical Journalist

Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist

Best Columnist

Media Relations Award

The Media Relations Award is chosen by IT journalists, and recognises the PR professional who has left a lasting impression by effectively working alongside the media.

David Hellaby Best Media Relations

112 views0 comments


bottom of page