top of page

AFR & Mark Serrels triumph at 2019 Samsung IT Journalism Awards

Updated: Dec 17, 2019

The Australian Financial Review and Mark Serrels were awarded top honours at the 17th Annual Samsung IT Journalism Awards last week.

After nabbing the Best Business Technology Coverage and Best News Coverage awards, The Australian Financial Review came out on top with the Best Title overall Gold Lizzie.

CNET’s Mark Serrels found himself in the Best Journalist seat once more thanks to his victory in the Best Consumer Technology Journalist category, and multiple high commendations.

For the Pioneer of IT Media award which first began last year, David Frith was recognised for his huge contributions to IT journalism in Australia through his work at newspapers and on pioneering daily newsletter Computer Daily News.

Meanwhile, the CNET team found itself particularly prosperous on the night, winning the Best Consumer Technology Coverage category, whilst Jennifer Bisset and Jackson Ryan made their own appearances on stage for Best New Journalist and Best Gaming Journalist.

Ry Crozier, Djuro Sen and Brad Howarth also held their categories for the second year in a row, whilst IGN Australia continued to dominate the Best Gaming Coverage category with its third win in a row.

This year’s awards would not have been possible without our event sponsor Samsung Electronics Australia, as well as silver sponsors Watterson Marketing Communications, NEC and Avaya, with special mention to gin sponsor Enex Testlab.

See below for a full list of winners in presentation order.

Watterson Marketing Communications Best Dressed Awards Alex Angrove-Plumb, Rae Johnston

Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist Jennifer Bisset HC: Jackson Ryan

Best Gaming Journalist Jackson Ryan HC: Lucy O’Brien, Mark Serrels

Best Gaming Coverage IGN Australia HC: CNET, Kotaku Australia

Paul Zucker Best Technology Industry Journalist Brad Howarth HC: David Swan, Seamus Byrne

Best Reviewer Djuro Sen HC: Joseph Hanlon

Best Telecommunications Journalist Ry Crozier HC: Jennifer Duke, Rohan Pearce

Best Security Journalist Jeremy Kirk HC: Juha Saarinen

Best Columnist Mark Pesce HC: Mark Serrels

Best Technical Journalist Alex Kidman HC: David Braue

Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist Ariel Bogle

Best News Coverage Australian Financial Review

John Costello Best Business Technology Journalist Tess Bennett HC: Andrew Birmingham, George Nott

Best Business Technology Coverage Australian Financial Review HC: Which-50, CIO

Best Technology Issues Journalist David Swan HC: Anthony Caruana, Mark Serrels

Best Corporate Content Darren Pauli HC: Stuart Corner

David Hellaby Best Media Relations Salvatore Di Muccio, Well Above

Pioneer of IT Media David Frith

Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist Mark Serrels HC: Claire Reilly

Best Consumer Technology Coverage CNET HC: The Australian Financial Review, Finder

Best Independent Media The Wrap HC: Stevivor

Best Journalist Mark Serrels

Best Title Australian Financial Review

112 views0 comments


bottom of page