top of page

CNET's Ryan and The Australian Financial Review collect Gold Lizzies

Updated: Oct 24, 2022

CNET’s Jackson Ryan and the team from The Australian Financial Review have taken top honours at the 20th Annual Samsung Australian IT Journalism Awards.

Supported by Samsung, Enex TestLab, Watterson Marketing Communications, Amazon Web Services, Atlassian, Optus and Apptio, this year’s Awards at Luna Park were attended by 300 individuals from the wider journalism, public relations and technology communities.

Speaking on the night as Best Journalist, Jackson Ryan said “genuinely The Lizzies have always been something that I’ve held quite dear so it’s incredible to be up here”, thanking his editor Mark Serrels and CNET for their support.

Accepting the Gold Lizzie for Best Title, The Australian Financial Review’s Paul Smith said “It means a lot because there is so much good journalism done and so many stories that are based around the very broad concept of technology. Technology is everything now. Technology is in every part of the newspaper that we all work for, and every facet of life.”

The winners are listed below in order of presentation, alongside those Highly Commended for their entries.

Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist

Velvet-Belle Templeman

HC: Joseph Lam, Tobias Venus

Best Gaming Journalist

Jackson Ryan

HC: Chris Button

Best Gaming Coverage


HC: Byteside,

Best Security Journalist

Jeremy Kirk

HC: David Braue, Patrick Gray

Best Technical Journalist

Alex Walker

HC: Angharad Yeo

Paul Zucker Best Technology Industry Journalist

Yolanda Redrup

HC: Paul Smith. David Swan

Best Reviewer

Alex Kidman

HC: Alex Walker, Leigh :) Stark

Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist

Jackson Ryan

HC: Josh Taylor, Daniel Van Boom

Best Consumer Technology Coverage


HC: Pickr, The Australian

Pioneer of IT Media

Stuart Corner

Best Business Coverage

Communications Day

HC: The Australian Financial Review, Digital Nation Australia

John Costello Best Business Technology Journalist

David Swan

HC: Rae Johnston, Jessica Sier

Best News Coverage

The Australian Financial Review

HC: The Australian

Graeme Philipson Best Columnist

Simon Sharwood

HC: Paul Smith, Amanda Yeo

Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist

Josh Taylor

HC: David Braue

Best Independent Media



Best Telecommunications Journalist

Rohan Pearce

HC: Paul Smith

Best Technology Issues Journalist

Daniel Van Boom

HC: Josh Taylor

Best Program

SBS (Elise Potaka, Calliste Weitenberg, David Ma, Patrick Forrest)

HC: Tech Finder

David Hellaby Best Media Relations

Doug Johns, Power Up PR

HC: Salvatore Di Muccio, Well Above

Best Corporate Content

Nate Cochrane

HC: William Maher, The Register, Nick Ross

Best Journalist

Jackson Ryan

Best Title

The Australian Financial Review

970 views0 comments


bottom of page