top of page

20th Annual Samsung IT Journalism Awards Now Open

The 20th Annual Samsung IT Journalism Awards is open for entries with the industry’s night of nights to be held on Friday 21st October 2022 at Luna Park, Sydney. Samsung has again re-committed to supporting this year’s Awards program, which will recognise excellence in technology journalism and media for the unprecedented year of 2021.

This year’s Awards have received unprecedented sponsorship support with Samsung being joined by foundation sponsor Watterson, as well as AWS, Atlassian, Optus, Enex TestLabs and Apptio.

“The 20th anniversary is an amazing milestone for the Awards, and with the incredible support of our sponsors, our gala dinner is going to be a night to remember for the entire tech journalism community.”

“We’re aiming to make this a night for everyone who has been a part of the community and these Awards over the past 20 years.” This year, 23 Awards will be presented, including the Gold Lizzies for Best Journalist and Best Title. A new award, Best Program, has been added to recognise audio and video content.


Journalists can now submit their entries to this year’s Samsung IT Journalism Awards by visiting

​​​​​​​Entries close on 20th May.

If you have any queries regarding entries please contact Elliott Richardson on 0437 834 181, or via

As always, every journalist who submits an entry will be afforded one free ticket to attend the awards ceremony, courtesy of our sponsors. Tickets for friends and guests are available for purchase at


If you would like to help us with judging the awards, please contact Elliott Richardson — all judges receive one free ticket to the event.

See below for a full list of the awards:

Gold Lizzies

The Gold Lizzies will recognise the single best journalist and title for the year of 2021.

Best Title

Best Journalist

Coverage Awards

The Coverage Awards aim to recognise editorial quality by a team of journalists working for a single masthead on a single beat. Nominations must include the work of more than one journalist.

Best News Coverage

Best Consumer Technology Coverage

Best Business Coverage

Best Gaming Coverage

Best Independent Coverage

Beat Awards

The Beat Awards aim to recognise individual journalists who demonstrate the greatest skill in delivering content for a particular audience. Please note an article can only be entered in ONE of the following categories.

Helen Dancer Best Consumer Technology Journalist

Paul Zucker Best Industry Journalist

John Costello Best Business Journalist

Best Gaming Journalist

Best Telecommunications Journalist

Best Security Journalist

Best Technology Issues Journalist

Journalism Awards

The Journalism Awards aim to recognise journalists who excel in different forms of journalism.

Graeme Philipson Best Columnist Award

Cass Warneminde Best News Journalist

Best Reviewer

Best Technical Journalist

Best Program (new)

Alicia Camphuisen Best New Journalist

Graeme Philipson Best Columnist

Media Relations Award

The Media Relations Award is chosen by IT journalists, and recognises the PR professional who has left a lasting impression by effectively working alongside the media.

David Hellaby Best Media Relations

128 views0 comments


bottom of page